My Story

I was born in sunny Johannesburg, South Africa, and moved to Canada at the age of 4. My parents were idealists, and wanted me to grow up in a world that had fast forwarded the progress they anticipated in our home country. 

I started writing stories at 6 years old. My mom had fallen ill with Multiple Sclerosis, and my parents thought it wise to have me see the school therapist. I wasn’t wild about talking, but somehow I managed to trick the therapist (or did she trick me?) into letting me create little picture books that I wrote and illustrated myself. We wrote some more with my Grade 1 class, but by then I was hooked. 

Near the end of high school something happened, something strange that I can’t quite imagine or pinpoint. I stopped singing. I stopped writing. I forgot about the integral element of play in both, and put them on pause to focus on academia. 

After university I set out to see the world, teaching English in Korea and then travelling throughout 11 countries in Asia for a year, and by the end of it I felt for the lack of something, and of course, that something was art. Storytelling. Music. 

So my life entered a new phase, one focused on the things I learned that I needed. I started taking piano. I finally finished my extended (111,000 word) writing exercise. I travelled to Turkey and Istanbul. I began the series I’d been playing with for years. 

And now I’m here. Writing. Singing. Playing. Climbing up the waterfall to the life I’m dreaming of. I consider myself lucky to be able to try. 

Random Facts

I’ve worked as a: 
Customer Service Representative, at a pizza call centre, an English Teacher, a Youth Advisor, and as a Marketing Specialist. 

If I wasn’t a writer/singer/songwriter, I’d be:
A digital nomad. Or a youth worker. Or a psychologist. Or an activist? 

When I was a kid I wanted to be:
Still a singer and a writer. Or a fairy. Does that count as a profession? 

Favorite music: 
This changes all the time, but right now: Solange, Billie Eilish, Coldplay, Bidu Sayao, Bon Iver, Ed Sheeran, A Fine Frenzy, Gary Clark Jr., Sarah Barielles, Kimbra, Nico & Vinz, Stromae, Taylor Swift, Emilie Gassin. 

Favorite book:
Street Magic by Tamora Pierce, if I have to pick just one. 

Favorite movie: 
I define favourite as something that I can watch again and again and again. So, probably Ever After. 

Favorite TV Shows: 
Mad Men, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Hana Yori Dango. 

I live:
In Vancouver, Canada. 

Ultimate goal in life:
Carpe diem, in a phrase. Also to learn to blow glass and live on every continent. 

Personal motto:
You don’t know what you don’t know until you learn that you don’t know it. 

Special Skills:
I’m a low black belt in kickboxing, and I’ve become very good at gesticulating for EFL learners. I’m also a mighty fine cook and I’m a perfectly mediocre artist. 

Most people don’t know: 
That I’m an immigrant. (#whiteprivilege)
I like to take pictures of weird signs. 
I really like tea. 

Where I’ve travelled:
I was born in South Africa, and I’ve lived in Canada since then. I lived in Korea for a year. I’ve also been to England (3x), France, Italy, America, the Icelandic airport, Uganda, Tanzania, Jordan, Israel, Malaysia, Myanmar, Taiwan, Japan (4x), Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, Brunei, India, and Turkey. 

Join the fam

Fill in your details to get occasional updates about upcoming releases, blog posts, shows, and appearances.